GangSter Squad, the entitled of bloggers, and the dumbing down of movie audiences

There’s a certain entitlement you get when you attach yourself to a particular group of people. Not only am I a film buff, but I am also a Blogger, so needless to say I have my nose pretty far up in the air.  A big problem I have is judging people based off their taste in entertainment.  Now this isn’t just me in person or anything it’s usually somebody raving about a movie that I deem is terrible.

Now I’ve dedicated a significant amount of time to not only filming but creative writing, so I can consider myself a somewhat authority, whilst not being supreme.  Just like how somebody who plays Sports, watches sports, and play fantasy league is the authority on Football.  But when I think a movie is all around bad, and I see a Facebook update about how good it is I wince.  Maybe even roll my eyes, and sometimes I have to remind myself that liking a bad movie isn’t a reflection of intelligence, just like liking a good movie or a movie I deem good make me any smarter.  There’s just a lot of factors that go into a good movie that other people don’t recognize or even look for.  Story Structure, Editing, Pacing, etc.  And there’s nothing wrong with anybody enjoying anything.  I liked For Colored Girls , as an absurd comedy, but I’d still watch it again.  Sometimes I wonder where does the general audience fall on movies, and if they know something is bad.

There are certain movies I hate.  Generally speaking they’re usually really lazy, or have bad logic or character motivations. Basically if you have potential you use it.  My least favorite movies are the ones that get by solely on having an ensemble cast.  Expendables and Red come to mind.  To me both extremely mediocre movies that have no business on anything other then a Redbox Exclusive.  The reason I hate these movies is because of the lack of effort.  Say what you will about Twilight, it’s polishing a turd.  The best Twilight movie you could make would be a self aware parody of itself.  There is no real way to make a good Twilight movie.  But when you have a cast full of superstars, there’s absolutely no reason you should squander such talent.  There’s no excuses.

So coming back to this wonderful audience who I constantly remind myself, I am not better then them, I wonder when does an audience stop appreciating a movie on a purely visceral or base experience and when does it begin to become a good movie for them?  All the time, I look at the number one movie in the U.S. and think “wow that’s a shame”.  But who says Audiences are going into Transformers to see Citizen Kane.  With Movies like Stark Trek, Avengers, and Fast and Furious you can have exciting action and still have a good movie with it.  Not every movie has to be an Oscar Film.  And hell most of the films getting Oscars, I don’t think deserve them either. Hollywood can’t win with me.  But maybe some audiences like movies because they’re tailored for them, just like naturally I was going to enjoy Avengers.

That being said, a movie that I openly despise is coming out on Bluray recently.  The movie called “GangStar Squad” is everything I hate about a movie while admittedly being not bad.  Maybe I was disappointed, this has maybe one of the greatest ensemble cast of the year.  There was a lot in place to make this a good movie.  Great actors, a new director who had a hit with ZombieLand, and really interesting marketing.  The trailers led me to believe this was a really smart tongue in cheek homage to classic gangster movies, while discussing itself as a generic action movie.  What I got was the generic action movie.

Let me talk about on a purely non biased non personal level what’s wrong with this movie. First off everything is a cliche.  EVERYTHING.  If you played a drinking game with water, how many times you can call how a scene will play out you’d  overdose on water.  I’m meeting the movie on every level, but it just sinks.  At a certain point I just said to myself ” If the action is good we’re okay” but no the action scenes are boring, and filmed flatly.  It’s all cookie cutter and dull.  The performances are okay, and the script is absolutely anemic.  No character development , just cliches, can’t blame the director , but he’s losing credibility with me by the second.

Now the reason part of me hates this movie is because of what it represents.  The audience wash’t coming out saying ” oo that was fun” they are saying “that was a good movie” , now this has happened before, but it’s usually a specific audience, say tweens coming out of twilight or black people, i’m black it’s okay, out of  a Tyler Perry film.  This movie gets off purely on it’s star power , and marketing rather then any actual quality.  And I get that some people don’t watch as much movies as me, probably doesn’t recognize some cliches, but I can’t point out how many moments are stolen from other movies.  Is what’s considered a good movie becoming less and less selective?  Or do people really vote with their wallets.  Overall, I just have to remind myself, in retrospect it doesn’t really matter, Audiences will see what they want to see , and really bad lazy movies will be #1, great movies will struggle in the box office, and occasionally you’ll get a Limitless and Source Code which will outperform expectations critically and finically, one can only hope Audiences and Snobby Film Buffs like me can try to see eye to eye more.

Leave a Reply

